20th Edition


when:May 23rd - June 2nd, 2024
address:Rua da Rosa 277, 2º, Sala 1.4
1200-385 Lisboa, Portugal
tel:+351 21 3158399
deadline:December 22nd, 2023
entry form:ISubmission at

ndieLisboa focuses on bringing independent cinema closer to the audiences, showing films that do not reach the regular distribution circuit. The festival screens mostly films (features and shorts) in competitions of both young and renown directors. The festival is also a platform to premiere and release new films, thus an important ally for Portuguese distributors. The festival fosters cultural and linguistic diversity by diversifying its geographical scope.
The festival aims to draw the spotlight to worldwide productions and also to the discovery of Portuguese recent films (some even works in progress) through its competitions and industry-oriented activities. The festival has also focused, for this reason, in successfully expanding its industry core. We expect to reach an audience in screenings of around 40.000 people and an overall audience of 50.000 people, once again confirming IndieLisboa as the most well attended film event in Portugal.
The activities that go beyond regular screenings - workshops, masterclasses, debates, a scriptwriting lab, a film fund, a pitching forum, screenings of works in progress for industry guests, networking events, etc. - will continue to expand in 2020, consistently supporting our mission of film literacy and promotion of independent cinema. Industry attendees (programmers, directors, producers, distributors, sales agents, film critics, etc.), actively contribute to the dynamics of the European film exhibition and distribution network.

Main Awards & Prizes:
• International Competition - Feature Film Grand Prize City of Lisbon (15.000 Euros)
• Short Film Grand Prize (4000 Euros)
• New Talent Award (1500 Euros)
• Silvestre Award for Best Feature Film (1500 Euros)
• Silvestre Award for Best Short Film (1000 Euros)
• IndieMusic Award (1000 Euros)
• Amnesty International Award (1500 euros)
• Audience Feature Film Award (2000 Euros)
• Audience Short Film Award (1000 Euros)
• IndieJunior Audience Award (500 Euros)

  • The Years by Sara Fgaier: Competição Internacional Curtas

  • The Holy Girl by Lucrecia Martel: Herói Independente

  • Muta by Lucrecia Martel: Herói Independente

  • The Resolute by Giovanni Donfrancesco: International Competition

  • The Challenge by Yuri Ancarani: International Competition

  • Colombi by Luca Ferri: Documentary, Fiction

  • Da Vinci by Yuri Ancarani: International Competition Animation - Grand Prize

  • All the invisible children by Mehdi Charef, Emir Kusturica, Spike Lee, Katia Lund, Jordan Scott, Ridley Scott, Stefano Veneruso, John Woo: Observatory

  • Mary by Abel Ferrara: Observatory

  • Sunday Afternoon by Gaia Adducchio: Short Competition